top of page
Screenshot 2020-03-06 at 13.29.12.jp

Buildings & architecture

New methods and means enable cheap construction with greater comfort. With a new guest house we want to show the possibilities and effects that can be achieved with brick production on site.

Bauprojekte

Bauprojekte

Play Video

 What it is about? 

Most of the houses in Donomadé are traditional adobe buildings with a thatched roof. These buildings are ecological and relatively cool. But they also mean a lot of maintenance, are prone to rain and fire and only allow very limited designs. Last but not least, this type of construction is associated with poverty and backwardness for the people in Togo. The only alternative that can be found are houses made of cement and corrugated iron. Although these are more robust than clay, they are not ecological and have a significantly poorer indoor climate.

IMG_1731.JPG

The conventional construction allows little quality of life.

Cement production alone accounts for 7% of global CO2 emissions. The construction sector is facing major ecological challenges. With our crowdfunding projects, we support brick construction, which is used to build inexpensive and ecological houses that have a significantly higher quality of living than cement huts. The loam soil can also be extracted and pressed on site. So much less material is transported around and unnecessary costs can be saved. 

 What should be achieved? 

Crowdfunding_group photo.jpeg
K1024__MG_0153.JPG

Sustainability beyond agriculture.

Not only in agriculture, but also in construction, we try to achieve ecological modernization with local resources, which in the long term represents a better quality of life for the regional population and promotes added value in the region. In addition, the farm itself should convey a positive charisma of innovation, departure and sustainability through an appealing and functional architecture and a coherent overall plan and combine the various elements and activities of the farm to a large and whole. The system should be planned and built in such a way that it appears organic and promotes a fruitful exchange between the various interest groups on site. On the farm, people work, sell, demonstrate, research, teach, live, discuss, dream and relax, and accordingly infrastructure, rooms and places are needed that enable and promote these activities.

Building with pressed and stabilized adobe bricks

We build with pressed clay bricks from local, clayey soil, to which approx. 8 percent by volume of cement is buried. This is ecological, inexpensive, innovative, flexible and can be implemented with the village population. The moisture-regulating properties of the earth blocks enable a pleasant room climate and protect against mold. During the construction of the warehouse, we already gained our first experience with building with pressed clay bricks, a construction method that convinced us.

Training of local bricklayers to set up the farm's own brick factory

We were able to purchase our own brick press, test it in Zurich and ship it to Togo. This is the cornerstone for building a local brick factory on the FeMoDo model and research farm. Local masons in the village are trained in the production of the bricks as well as in building with the mud bricks. For this we work together with the Shechem farm in Togo.

 Clay brick production in pictures 

 Well supported and sustainably secured 

Cement-free construction

Cement-free construction

We are exchanging ideas with Gnanli Landrou, a PhD researcher from the innovative start-up Oxara in Zurich, which wants to revolutionise earthen construction. They have developed a mineral-based binder that might enable us in the future to press bricks completely without the climate-polluting cement.

Promoting young talent.

Promoting young talent.

Dosseh SOKEGBE, an extraordinarily motivated young man from the village, has actively supported us. He wants to study civil engineering and is very interested in brickmaking. We will accompany him in his education and in parallel he will do an apprenticeship on the farm and be involved in all construction activities, so that in the long run he can lead the construction projects on the farm and in the region.

Adapted architecture

Adapted architecture

Daniel Baumann, an architect with around 30 years of planning and building experience, is supporting the project on a voluntary basis. He supports us in the overall planning of the area and in the development of sensible solutions for cost-effective, climate-friendly construction adapted to the region. He plans and draws the upcoming construction projects, in exchange with the experts in Togo.

An own clay pit

An own clay pit

We have obtained a piece of land in the village where we can now mine enough clay for the upcoming construction projects.

Experimental garden

Experimental garden

We have set up a small experimental garden where we test different building methods with the various forms of clay bricks and expose them to the weather. Thus, different wall schemes, foundations, openings, covers, arches and others are tried out. The aim is to find simple and functional solutions for the upcoming buildings, to make the construction method tangible for visitors and to show how ecological construction can be integrated into agriculture in a meaningful way.

Implementation

Implementation

As our first implementation project, we are building a residential building for about 30 people, where we can accommodate employees, researchers, trainees and other visitors. The sustainable construction method with pressed clay bricks is not only ecologically sensible, but also cost-effective and enables a pleasant indoor climate. Local workers are integrated and professionally trained during the construction phase. The residential house can become a model for future buildings in the village.

 With crowd funding support 

The second crowdfunding with the support of the wemakeit climate fund has been successfully completed.

For the further development of the farm's own brick factory and the coming construction projects, we are dependent on further donations. We launched a second crowdfunding on October 31, which is again supported by the wemakeit climate fund with CHF 25,000. 220 donors have donated CHF 31,613, with the contribution from wemakeit that makes a total of CHF 56,613! Many thanks to everyone for their generous support.  You have helped  that sustainable building can be realized in the region.

Image2.png
bottom of page

Bildschirmfoto 2020-03-06 um 13.29.12.jp

NACHHALTIG BAUEN

  • Auf LinkedIn teilen

Das zweite Crowdfunding mit Unterstützung des wemakeit-Klimafonds ist erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Für den weiteren Aufbau der farmeigenen Ziegelmanufaktur und die kommenden Bauprojekte sind wir auf weitere Spenden angewiesen. Wir haben am 31. Oktober ein zweites Crowdfunding lanciert, welches wieder durch den Klimafonds von wemakeit mit 25'000 CHF unterstützt wird. 220 Spenderinnen und Spender haben CHF 31'613 gespendet, mit dem Beitrag von wemakeit sind das insgesamt CHF 56 613! Vielen herzlichen Dank allen für die grosszügige Unterstützung. Sie haben dazu beigetragen,  dass nachhaltiges Bauen in der Region realisiert werden kann.

Bild2.png

 Worum geht es? 

Die meisten Häuser in Donomadé sind herkömmliche Lehmbauten mit einem Strohdach. Diese Bauten sind ökologisch und relativ kühl. Sie bedeuten aber auch viel Unterhalt, sind anfällig auf Regen und Feuer und erlauben nur sehr limitierte Bauformen. Nicht zuletzt ist diese Bauweise für die Mensch in Togo mit Armut und Rückständigkeit assoziiert. Die einzige Alternative, die man findet, sind Häuser aus Zement und Wellblech. Diese sind zwar robuster als Lehm, aber unökologisch und weisen ein deutlich schlechteres Raumklima auf.

IMG_1731.JPG

Die herkömmliche Bauweise ermöglicht wenig Lebensqualität.

Die Zementproduktion allein versucht 7% der weltweiten CO2-Emissionen. Der Bausektor steckt vor grossen ökologischen Herausforderungen. Mit unserem Crowdfunding-Projekte unterstützen wir die Ziegelbauweise, mit der günstige und ökologische Häuser gebaut werden, die eine wesentliche höhere Wohnqualität aufweisen als die Zementhütten. Die Lehmerde kann ausserdem vor Ort extrahiert und gepresst werden. So wird viel weniger Material herum transportiert und es können unnötige Kosten gespart werden. 

 Was soll erreicht werden? 

Crowdfunding_gruppenfoto.jpeg
K1024__MG_0153.JPG

Nachhaltigkeit über die Landwirtschaft hinaus.

Nicht nur in der Landwirtschaft, sondern auch im Bauen versuchen wir mit lokalen Ressourcen eine ökologische Modernisierung hinzubekommen, die langfristig eine bessere Lebensqualität für regionale Bevölkerung darstellt und Wertschöpfung in der Region fördert. Ausserdem soll die Farm selbst durch eine ansprechende und funktionale Architektur und einen kohärenten Gesamtplan eine positive Ausstrahlung von Innovation, Aufbruch und Nachhaltigkeit vermitteln und die verschiedenen Elemente und Tätigkeiten der Farm zu einem grossen und ganzen verbinden. Die Anlage sollte so geplant und gebaut sein, dass es organisch wirkt und einen fruchtbaren Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen Interessensgruppen vor Ort fördert. Auf der Farm wird gearbeitet, verkauft, demonstriert, geforscht, gelehrt, gewohnt, diskutiert, geträumt und sich erholt und entsprechend braucht es Infrastruktur, Räume und Plätze, welche diese Tätigkeiten ermöglichen und fördern.

Bauen mit gepressten und stabilisierten Lehmziegeln

Wir bauen mit gepressten Lehmziegeln aus lokaler, lehmhaltiger Erde, der ca. 8 Volumenprozent Zement beigesetzt wird. Dies ist ökologisch, kostengünstig, innovativ, flexibel und mit der Dorfbevölkerung umsetzbar. Die Feuchtigkeitsregulierenden Eigenschaften der Lehmsteine ermöglicht ein angenehmes Raumklima und schütz vor Schimmel. Während der Konstruktion des Lagerhauses sammelten wir schon erste Erfahrungen mit dem Bauen mit gepressten Lehmziegeln, eine Bauweise, die uns überzeugt.

Ausbildung lokaler Maurer für den Aufbau der farm-eigenen Ziegelmanufaktur

Wir konnten eine eigene Ziegelpresse erwerben, in Zürich testen und nach Togo verschiffen. Dies ist der Grundstein, um eine lokale Ziegelmanufaktur auf der Modell- und Forschungsfarm FeMoDo aufzubauen. Lokale Maurer im Dorf werden geschult und ausgebildet in der Produktion der Ziegel, wie auch im Bauen mit den Lehmziegeln. Hierfür arbeiten wir zusammen mit der Farm Sichem in Togo.

  Lehmziegelproduktion in Bildern 

 Gut abgestützt und nachhaltig gesichert 

Zementfreies Bauen

Zementfreies Bauen

Wir sind im Austausch mit Gnanli Landrou ein promovierter Forscher von dem innovativen Startup Oxara in Zürich, welches den Lehmbau revolutionieren möchte. Sie haben ein mineralbasiertes Bindemittel entwickelt, dass uns vielleicht in Zukunft ermöglichen könnte, die Ziegel komplett, ohne den klimabelastenden Zement zu pressen.

Nachwuchsförderung

Nachwuchsförderung

Dosseh SOKEGBE, ein ausserordentlich motivierter Junger Mann aus dem Dorf, hat uns tatkräftig unterstützt. Er möchte Bauingenieur studieren und ist sehr interessiert an der Ziegelmanufaktur. Wir werden ihn begleiten in seiner Ausbildung und parallel wird er eine Lehre auf der Farm machen und in alle Bautätigkeiten einbezogen werden, so dass er langfristig die Bauprojekte auf der Farm und in der Region leiten kann.

Adaptierte Architektur

Adaptierte Architektur

Daniel Baumann, Architekt mit einer rund 30-jährigen Planungs- und Bauerfahrung begleitet das Projekt ehrenamtlich. Er unterstützt uns bei der Gesamtplanung des Areals und bei der Entwicklung von sinnvollen Lösungen für kostengünstiges, klimafreundliches und an die Region angepasstes Bauen. Er plant und zeichnet die kommenden Bauprojekte, im Austausch mit den Experten in Togo.

Eine eigene Lehmgrube

Eine eigene Lehmgrube

Wir haben im Dorf ein Stück Land gesichert, wo wir nun ausreichend Lehm abbauen können für die kommenden Bauprojekte.

Ein Experimentiergarten

Ein Experimentiergarten

Wir haben einen kleinen Experimentiergarten eingerichtet, wo wir verschiedenste Bauweisen mit den unterschiedlichen Formen von Lehmziegel testen und der Witterung aussetzen. So werden verschiedene Mauerschemas, Fundamente, Öffnungen, Abdeckungen, Bögen und anderes ausprobiert. Das Ziel ist einfache und funktionelle Lösungen für die kommenden Bauten zu finden, die Bauweise für Besuchende erlebbar machen und zeigen wie ökologisches Bauen sinnvoll in die Landwirtschaft integriert werden kann.

Konkrete Umsetzung

Konkrete Umsetzung

Als erstes Umsetzungsprojekt bauen wir ein Wohnhaus für ca. 30 Personen, wo wir Angestellte, Forschende, Auszubildende und andere Besuchende beherbergen können. Die nachhaltige Bauweise mit gepressten Lehmziegeln ist nicht nur ökologisch sinnvoll, sondern auch kostengünstig und ermöglicht ein angenehmes Raumklima. Lokale Arbeiter werden während der Bauphase integriert und professionell geschult. Das Wohnhaus kann zum Modell für künftige Bauten im Dorf werden.